Excellence in research awards:



To nominate anyone you deem deserving, simply download the appropriate printable nomination form (see below) and email it to James Popkie at jpopkie@mria-arim.ca, or mail or fax your completed nomination to the address indicated on the form. Nominations are due on or before April 29, 2018.

Individual entries may not be submitted for more than two awards.

Form A - Awards for Research Projects Form B - Awards for Individual Research Professionals
Please use Form A, if you want to nominate someone for an award in the following categories:
  • Award for Excellence in Public Policy and Government
  • Public Service Impact and/or Benefit Award
  • Best Qualitative Research Project
  • Best Quantitative Research Project
  • Award for Best Integration of Research Tools and Techniques
  • Award for Innovation and Advancement in Marketing Research
  • Award for Best Multi-Stakeholder Research Initiative
  • Murray Philp Altruism Award

Your Awards submission should be on a project completed, in whole or in part, in Canada within the eligibility period of January 1 through December 31, 2017. Financial impact and budgets are not required for submissions.

Please use Form B, if you want to nominate someone for an award in the following categories:
  • Emerging Leader Award
  • Award for Excellence Behind the Scenes

What to include in your 2-page Awards submission:

  • Describe in specific detail how the person / project being nominated meets the terms of reference / criteria for this award and why this MRIA member / research project would be a deserving recipient of one of the MRIA Excellence Awards noted above.
  • Keep your outline to within 2 pages, up to 1000 words.
Download Form A (PDF) Download Form B (PDF)


Your Awards submission will be held in the strictest of confidence and will only be made available to the chair and judges for that award. The panel of judges for each award will be chosen carefully to avoid conflicts of interest and only details approved by you will be made public at the MRIA Gala Dinner to be held at MRIA's 2018 National Conference. The names of the Winners are not released in advance and will be published in Pulse, on LinkedIn and on the MRIA website, after the event.


Thank You to the Sponsor of the 2018 Excellence in Research Awards